Types of Breast Cancer

Types of Breast Cancer
By Dr. Mercola

Breast cancer is classified into two types, based on
whether or not it is invasive:

•Noninvasive (in situ) breast cancer: Cancer cells have
not spread to adjacent areas of your breast—they have
remained in their place of origin. The most common type
is ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS), which occurs in the
lining of the milk ducts. Noninvasive breast cancer is
sometimes called “stage 0″ cancer.

•Invasive breast cancer. Cancer cells infiltrate or spread
outside the membrane that lines a duct or lobule, into
surrounding tissues. The cancer cells can then travel to
other parts of your body. Invasive breast cancer can be
stage I, II, III, or IV, depending on how advanced it is.
Breast cancer can be further classified according to what
type of tissue it arises from:

•Milk ducts: Ductal carcinoma is the most common type of
breast cancer.

•Milk-producing lobules: Lobular carcinoma originates in
the lobules, where breast milk is produced.

•Connective tissues (muscles, fat and blood vessels):
Rarely, breast cancer can originate from these breast
tissues; in this case, it’s called sarcoma.

Please feel free to forward this newsletter to anyone who
could benefit from its content.

With my unconditional love,

Lea Yekutiel

This entry was posted in Breast cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>